A Little of This, a Little of That

I left my last post on something of a sour note, didn’t I? Let’s look at some pretty pictures to distract us.

I haven't actually read The Secret Garden, so I don't have any witty remarks for this one.

I haven’t actually read The Secret Garden, so I don’t have any witty remarks for this one.

I was on the road the first bit of the month, but once I got back I knocked out the second frame of Story Time Sampler posthaste. The Frosted Pumpkin patterns are (so far, at least) just straight cross stitch. Very beginner friendly. I recently learned how to do French knots after years of profanity-laced failure, and maybe I went a little overboard. I like the effect. I wanted to do something different with the tulip, but when I switched it to satin stitch, it looked a little… suggestive. This is a family friendly piece, so I changed it back. The rest of the flowers are all French knots. The doorknob is a rice stitch.

How about another?

No witty remarks for this one either.

No witty remarks for this one either.

Here’s the second part of Serenity Harbor. I luurve the feeling of silk, but I do stitch slower than with cotton. The clouds in particular took a while. I was pretty much averaging one cloud a night for half a week. I was watching the Walking Dead and Better Call Saul when I was doing the clouds; it was a total multi-tasking failure, and I ended up stitching slowly and couldn’t really follow the plot lines. Oh well.

So what else is new? Shops have starting posting previews for the Nashville market. I want one of everything, thank you very much. Here’s my favorite list from Crazy Annie’s Stitchin. I’m drooling over here. Seems like every day I find something new that I want/need/must have/can’t live without. I made a rule for myself (which I’ve broken thrice so far) that I won’t order something without a full preview picture. I guess it’s not really a good rule if I can’t follow it.

How is kitty? Improving, at least a little. He’s pretty mellow from the meds. We have a week left of that, then he’ll be back to his usual exuberant self. Baby steps.

But not too mellow to wrestle with his brother.

But not too mellow to wrestle with his brother.

Categories: WIP | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A Little of This, a Little of That

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of french knots there to do! Glad to hear that kitty is doing better :)

    • I had second thoughts about halfway through, but I figured it would take longer to frog all those knots than it would to just finish them, so I kept going.

  2. Beautiful job!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

