September WIPocalypse

How about that, I’m posting on time for once.

Since my last post, I finished the first part of the Something Wicked mystery sampler. Still holding off on pictures until the entire thing is finished per Patti’s request. Part 2 is on order, but of course I ordered it with another pattern that was out of stock, so I’m still waiting on that one. But that’s okay; I have plenty of other things to work on in the meantime.

I’m catching up on Once Upon a Time. Here’s my August block:

I admit I'm completely blanking on the title of this story, even though it was totally the summer theater project one year when I was in elementary school.

I admit I’m completely blanking on the title of this story, even though it was totally the summer theater project one year when I was in elementary school.

I changed up the colors on the cat. The original pattern is orange, but I figured there are enough cats running around this place that I might as well use one of them as a model. Here’s the cat in question wearing a bow tie:

I'll have a vodka mahrtini. Shaken, not shtirred.

I’ll have a vodka mahrtini. Shaken, not shtirred.

For everything else I’ve stitched since my last WIPocalypse update, please click over to my post from a few days ago.

September topic is: Who is your favourite person to stitch for, or do you prefer to keep your stitching yourself?

I just stitch for myself. I used to stitch gifts, but no one was very appreciative. Back in the early days before I could gauge how long a project would take, I gave someone a birthday gift six weeks after the fact because it took me way longer to finish than I expected. They were irritated that I had “forgotten” their birthday and thought I had only just then remembered. I stopped giving stitched gifts a few years after that. I was making smaller, more manageable pieces as gifts, but then people were responding like I’d just thrown something together because they were small. Maybe it would be different if I gave gifts to other stitchers, but there aren’t that many in my life. I had planned to make a gift for someone earlier this year (first time in about 6 years) but changed my mind. I think that one could have gone 50/50, but it would have been about a 30-hour project and I’ve just been burned too many times in the past. Every now and again I see a pattern and think, “Oh, so and so would love that!” but I don’t go along with it.

Oh! Also of note is that I’ve added an Instagram account. Check out @live.long.and.stitch for some of my smaller updates.

Categories: WIP | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “September WIPocalypse

  1. Love your Once Upon a time project, so wishing I would have added this to my list by now. Maybe in the future. so sorry you’ve had bad luck with stitching gifts, my girlfriend did wonderful projects for her step daughter’s wedding, neither one appreciated the gifts. I’m so lucky, people I have given projects to have loved them and even the bad ones (in my early years) are still being displayed.

    Keep stitching, and enjoy!

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

