February WIPocalypse

Here we are again! Checking in with the 2014 WIPocalypse! If you have no idea what I’m going on about, pop over to the WIPocalypse page.

This month’s topic: How many projects do you generally feel comfortable having in progress at a time?  Tell us about your one-at-a-time or rotation habits!

Hmm. Usually I’d say I just have one project going at a time, but this year it’s a little different. This year I’m following several patterns which come out in periodic installments. There’s only but so much stitching per month for those, so I feel okay taking on several. For instance, Once Upon a Time and Magical Creatures are both full-year projects with monthly installments, and Quilty Stitches has 16 blocks released at two week intervals. I also just subscribed to Calendar Girls from Little House Needleworks, which is another monthly release. All that said, up until this year I would have said my max is two, one that I’m actively working on and a massive project that’s sitting on the back burner (for reals, I don’t think I’ll ever finish it, and I have so much queued up at the moment that I’m not going to bother posting it unless I completely run out of other patterns, which I don’t anticipate happening). The pattern subscriptions are a new thing for me, and I’m loving them. They break a larger project into manageable pieces, so I just cycle through them as things progress. Right now I have 5 projects going, three monthly patterns I’m actively working on (OUaT, Magical Creatures, and Quilty Stitches) and two projects that have stalled (Nature’s Trio is slow going because I have more interesting patterns, plus I started it when I was still using aida. I can’t stand aida. The other is a gift I can’t post until after the fact, but once I started I realized I had the wrong colors). Won’t lie, there are two more projects I’m dying to start, which would throw my theory of “only one or two regular sized projects at a time” out of whack. One is from Little House Needleworks, the other I designed myself.

On addendum on the pattern subscriptions: They really only work for me when the monthly patterns are small. I signed up for the Frosted Pumpkin patterns Christmas on Gingerbread Lane and Twelve Days of Christmas last year, but each week’s pattern was just plain too big for me. I couldn’t keep up. Of course, I was also working a ridiculous number of hours per week, so maybe it would be easier now.

As far as the actual works-in-progress progress (is that like ATM machine?), here’s the summary since January’s check-in. I would have gotten a little farther on the grid and border for OUaT, but I’ve been dealing with a sick kitty this week. He’s okay now, but he still has a few days of meds left to bite my fingers off. Fortunately my carpet is just the right shade of mottled tan that you can’t find certain stains until you’re three inches away. It’s been an adventure.

Biggest thing since last check-in is my first finish of the year!

Twelve Days of Christmas, Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery, complete 1/28/14

Twelve Days of Christmas, Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery, complete 1/28/14

Twelve Days is finished! I started the grid and border in early November of last year, but I didn’t really start working on it in earnest until after Christmas. Here’s my post about the completion. I still need to hem/iron/mount/frame it, but there’s plenty of time until Christmas for me to make it presentable. Then again, it seems like the Christmas season starts earlier every year…

As for the WIPs, absolutely no progress made on the Nature’s Trio fern. I’m not even going to post a picture. My other three projects are all new starts since the January check-in:

Getting the materials for Once Upon a Time pushed me to finish 12 Days. I only had a few days left in January to do the first block, but I finished on time. I did the February block before moving on to the grid. I'd have finished more of the grid and started the border, but like I said, sick kitty.

Getting the materials for Once Upon a Time pushed me to finish 12 Days. I only had a few days left in January to do the first block, but I finished on time. I did the February block before moving on to the grid. I’d have finished more of the grid and started the border, but like I said, sick kitty. I don’t think I posted the February “Frog Prince” block when I finished it.

Materials for Magical Creatures were also slow arriving. I got them about the same time as the OUaT materials. Also haven't done much of the border due to the late start. I would like to have the border completely finished (same for OUaT) instead of doing it in bits and pieces as the blocks come out, but it depends on how quickly I can catch up from the January delay.

Materials for Magical Creatures were also slow arriving. I got them about the same time as the OUaT materials. Also haven’t done much of the border due to the late start. I would like to have the border completely finished (same for OUaT) instead of doing it in bits and pieces as the blocks come out, but it depends on how quickly I can catch up from the January delay.

Quilty Stitch 1 and 2

I chose a floss for the border just today but haven’t start putting it in yet. These blocks are 24×24, and they’ve taken a few hours each. Maybe 4 or so. I still need to touch up the quarter stitches in the first block.

 

Colonial Dry Goods is listed on my WIPocalypse page (header up top), but I didn’t like the fabric. I’ve ordered a new cut from a different company, but these things always take time to fix.

And that about wraps it up, which means it’s time for some cats:

Gone cat fishing

Gone cat fishing

Tubular.

Tubular. And since the questions already come up once, yes, that’s one cat sticking out both ends.

 

Categories: WIP | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “February WIPocalypse

  1. Congratulations on your finish. It looks great!!! Lovely new starts!!!!

  2. Pretty finish! Will enjoy watching your progress on your other projects

  3. Cute kitty pics! Congrats on your Twelve Days of Christmas finish – it looks great!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

