WIPocalypse – January

How about that; I decided I wanted to do WIPocalypse this year. Couldn’t really do it any previous year, as I hadn’t heard of it (and was slightly distracted by my job sending me overseas for months at a time and not letting me sleep, but that’s a drama-filled tale for another day).

So what is WIPocalypse? It’s a stitch-along hosted by Melissa over at Measi’s Musings. What’s the point? Stitch. Pretty simple. I like simple goals; it’s easier to start with something simple and make it way over the top by the end than to go the other way. This is not the “Crazy January Challenge” deal that some people do. I’m not keeping score (yet…). The idea is to just stitch, with a monthly check-in with the other folks playing the home version.

Here’s a link. Links are fun and informative.

So here’s the deal: Every month there’s a discussion topic. This time around? Introduce yourself, your projects, and any goals you have for the year. So here we go.

Me: Amy. I’m a sailor, which is cool (sometimes). Of course, at the moment I’m not actually working on a ship, but we’ll stick with “sailor.” I’m 25, which is a nice round number. I’ve been stitching on and off for 10-15 years (don’t remember exactly how old I was when I learned).

Projects: I just consulted my list and realized I actually have quite a few I want to knock out. *sigh* I don’t stitch fast enough for this list. First of all, since Christmas is definitely over, I need to wrap this one up and move on:

P1010425

Ack! What happened to the ballerina’s head?!

This is the Twelve Days of Christmas sampler, compliments of the Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery. Go browse their shop; it’s kind of amazing. Also on the list for this year is their Once Upon a Time sampler, which I haven’t started because I’m still waiting on materials and because I need to finish the Christmas patterns before spring starts.

There’s a trio of patterns from Janlynn called Nature’s Trio. I already finished one of them, but I still have two more to go:

Not particularly exciting. The other one is a dragonfly, I think.

Not particularly exciting. The other one is a dragonfly, I think.

Let’s see what else is on the list… A travel map, some seasonal samplers from the Historical Sampler Company, the Mythical Creatures project from Clouds Factory, a Secret Project Shrouded in Mystery (or so it will stay for the moment as far as the internet is concerned, as it’s a gift for someone later in the year). There are certainly others, but these are the ones in the immediate future.

Goals: Oh boy. Actually finish projects, and don’t tear out my hair over the new job.

Happy stitching!

Categories: WIP | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “WIPocalypse – January

  1. Fun 12 Days of Christmas project! I love forward to seeing you finish it!

  2. Ooo! Gorgeous work! I’m also doing a few Pumpkin patterns this year for the wipocalpyse! I’ll be sure to follow your work.

  3. Your kitties are so adorable! I love how they fit so well into the sink! Good luck with your sampler…I know it will be beautiful when it’s done!

    • They actually made the little nest themselves. I just left the blankets on the counter, and when I came back they’d pulled everything into the sink.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

